Sixth Form Curriculum

Key Stage 5 is two years (Year 12 and 13) and all pupils will access a minimum of 3 subjects. Each subject is given 10 hours of curriculum time across the two week timetable. Double qualifications will be given 20 periods.

Key Stage 5 Subjects

The table below shows the subjects being taught in the 20/21 Academic year.

AS / A Level



KS5 Options Booklet – Academic Year 2020/21 2021/22 Futures Week Information

KS5 Qualification types


This stands for Advanced Levels. A-Levels tend to be 100% examinations based and these will be taken at the end of the course. Awards will be granted as A-G or ungraded.


This stands for Business and Technology  Council qualification. These can be studied at different levels, but the only level we deliver at 6th form is a Level 3 programme. Awards are granted as Distinction* to Pass.

Cambridge Nationals

These are equivalent to A-Levels and are mainly made up of coursework and one examination. It is graded from Distinction* to Pass.