At the end of year 9 pupils finalise the subjects they wish to study in greater depth at KS4. Our Key Stage 4 curriculum has been specifically designed to ensure breadth and variety to provide pupils with the knowledge they need to be successful throughout their lives. Pupils are guided to make appropriate choices and access a broad and balanced curriculum. Part of this process ensures pupils make informed choices that allow them to move onto the next stages of education or employment alongside ensuring their continued social development and personal enjoyment.Through our carefully considered offer, we prepare pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.

All pupils study English Literature, English Language, Mathematics, Science, PSHRE and PE. All pupils must study at least one other EBacc subject and then pupils have 3 free choices from subjects they were studying in year 9. You can see how KS4 fits into our 5 year curriculum model below. Further information on all subjects offered at KS4 can be found by clicking on the subjects below for summary videos or through the accompanying the KS4 Subjects Booklet.

The Secondary – Two-weekly Cycle

The Academy day is divided into 5, one hour teaching periods over a two week cycle, giving 48 periods per fortnight.  In addition to this we have an extra period at the end of the day for pupils to attend intervention/enrichment sessions and after Academy day clubs.

Curriculum map

Click the image above to view the larger, PDF version of the curriculum pathway

KS4 Subjects

Year 10 Subject information Year 11 Subject information Key Stage 4 Subject guide

KS4 Qualification Types


This stands for the General Certificate of Secondary Education. GCSEs generally have a mixture of controlled assessment and examination. Controlled assessments have to be completed during lesson time in school under conditions which are controlled by the teacher. Awards will be granted as 1-9 or ungraded.


This stands for Business and Technology Council qualification. These can be studied at different levels, but the only level we deliver is a Level 2 programme. Awards are granted as Pass, Merit or Distinction. Pass is equivalent to 4-5 grade at GCSE, Merit is equivalent to 6-7 grade at GCSE and Distinction is equivalent to grade at GCSE.

Cambridge Nationals

These are equivalent to a GCSE and are mainly made up of three pieces of coursework and one examination at the end of Year 11. It is graded from Distinction* to Pass (5-9) equivalent at GCSE).

The PDF documents on this page are not accessible. If you use assistive technology, such as a screen reader, and require accessible versions of these documents, please email: