Public Services

KS5 BTEC National in Public Services

Students wishing to have a career in the Public services can do so with a course in the sixth form.

They have the option of either the EDXCEL BTEC National in Public Service.

The course is made up of six units – 3 core units that everyone takes and 3 specialist units.  The specialist units enable you to study a particular area in more depth.


All students take the 3 core units:

Government, Policies and the Public Services         

Leadership and Teamwork in the Public Services

Citizenship, Diversity and the Public Services


You take 3 specialist units from this list:

Outdoor and Adventurous Expeditions (Duke of Edinburgh)

Understanding Discipline in the Uniformed Public Services

Skills for Land-based Outdoor and Adventurous Activities