Year 7

PSHRE content will be a new concept for most of our year 7 pupils. This subject is split into 3 sub-topics:

  • Religious Education, focusing on various faiths, cultures and beliefs
  • PSHE (Personal, Social, Health and Economic education) enabling pupils to focus on their own identity and personal development
  • Citizenship, enabling pupils to focus on the world around them to become fully active citizens of the global community

During year 7 pupils will focus on three RE based topics, which they will be assessed on during Terms 1, 3 and 5. These topics are; ‘Religion, Culture and Me’, ‘Religious attitudes to life and death’ and ‘Religious attitudes to violence, war and peace’. In the remaining terms pupils will focus on PSHE based content, ‘Puberty and healthy living’, ‘Drug abuse and misuse’ and ‘Sex and relationships education’.


Year 8

In year 8 pupils study a range of different Religious, PSHE (Personal, Social, Health and Economic education) and Citizenship topics. Pupils are assessed during RE and Citizenship based topics in Term 1, ‘Rules for living’, Term 3 ‘Stereotypes, Prejudice and Discrimination’ and Term 5 ‘Buddhism’. In terms 2, 4 and 6 pupils will then study their PSHE based topics of Careers, Mental health and sex and relationships education.


Year 9 GCSE

Pupils in year 9 are currently studying the Eduqas GCSE in Religious Studies. Throughout year 9 and until the end of year 11 pupils will study towards 3 different examination topics. Paper one is worth 50% of the final GCSE grading, a 2 hour examination  focusing on religious attitudes towards the following 4 topics; ‘Issues of Relationships’, ‘Issues of Life and Death’, ‘Issues of Good and Evil’ and ‘Issues of Human Rights’. Paper 2 is worth 25% of the overall GCSE grading, a 1 hour exam focusing on the beliefs, teachings and practices of Christianity. The third and final exam is once again worth 25% of the overall grade, a 1 hour examination focusing on the beliefs, teachings and practices of Buddhism.


Year 11 Non-GCSE

Whilst PSHRE is not a GCSE subject of study for pupils in year 11, the topics studied and information accessed is still vital for pupils to develop personal skills and ensure they are well-rounded citizens of the global community. In term 1 pupils focus on Crime and Punishment, term 2 enables pupils to develop debate skills on matters of social issues, Term 3 enables pupils to access and analyse legal case studies, and term 4 provides the opportunity to develop written arguments on controversial issues. In term 5 PSHRE curriculum time is used to support pupils in their GCSE preparation


Year 11 GCSE

Pupils studying the AQA Religious Studies GCSE as an extra credit started their journey into the faith of Christianity and Buddhism during year 10. The GCSE is split into two 1 hour 45 minute examinations. The first focuses on the beliefs, teachings and practices of Christianity and Buddhism. The second paper focuses on the views of Christians and Buddhists towards 4 key topics; ‘Relationships and families’, ‘Religion, Peace and Conflict’, ‘Crime and Punishment’ (completed in year 10), ‘Religion, Human Rights and Social Justice.’